What is love ?

Oh, love ! I can put my hand to it that each of us has an idea what this word means and yet when it comes to giving it a clear definition we struggle. Tell me if I'm wrong. What is love then?

Love is so many things at once. It is complex, but simple at the same time. It is beautiful, but hurts. It hurts us, but is so worth living. Hard to really define it, isn't it? Is it even possible? I don't think so, because so relative as a concept. However, I know that we can try to understand it in order to grasp its contours. Indeed, from my point of view, knowing what love is and what derives from it allows us to express it in the best possible way around us.

This article therefore does not pretend to tell you what love is, but to try to get an idea of the answer to the question what is love, by studying its etymology and some approaches that precede us. So this is for you, if you are curious and passionate about the subject of love.

Love: etymology and linguistic approach

Love: etymology and linguistic approach

The verb " to like comes from the Latin word amare, which refers to friendly, family and even erotic affection. It is from this verb that the word " love is derived, which means desire, affection. It is this word that first gave birth to the word love in old French. The word later became lover, as the French language evolved around the 13th century. And, under the influence of old Provençal, the language spoken by the troubadours, storytellers of love stories who traveled through France, and who said "amor", the word " lover " became love, as we know it today. 

What is love according to dictionaries?

According to Larousse dictionary, love is defined in many ways. First, it is the movement of devotion which carries a being towards a divinity, towards an idealized entity; adherence to an idea, an ideal: Love of God. Then, it is defined as being an interest, a very keen taste shown by someone for a category of things, for such a source of pleasure or satisfaction: love of objects of art. Also, it is affection or tenderness between members of a family: Paternal, filial love. Love is also the inclination of one person for another, of a passionate and/or sexual nature: Declaration of love.

According to'Internet user, love is the feeling of affection, sentimental and sexual attraction between two people. It is also the feeling of attachment, of mutual affection between friends or members of the same family. Love can also be approached as a disinterested attachment to a value, an ideal.

You will find with me that answering the question " what is love ? is not an easy task. It extends to all spheres of our lives, family, friends, love and even at the level of our taste for things.

However, these various definitions refer us to Greek civilization, which tells us that there are 4 distinct forms of love, namely: love Eros, Storgé, Philia and Agapé.

What is love according to the Greeks?

The different forms of love according to the Greeks

Love is an abstract and universal concept that everyone experiences, in different ways. It can be interpreted differently, depending on the context and the sentimental relationship to which it refers.

In an attempt to understand the phenomenon of love and explain it, the Greeks in ancient times delved into the subject. For them, love is the driving force behind many human actions, decisions and states of mind.

Thus, they proposed 4 forms or classifications of love, to explain this complex and unique feeling that one feels when one loves a person. Indeed, according to them, the love that one feels depends on the relationship with the loved one. We then distinguish:

Eros love

Eros love is romantic love, that interest we have for another person that tends towards physical, sexual attraction. It is passionate love. It is with this love that we love our spouse, husband, fiancé, boyfriend; you will have understood, this other who creates butterflies in our stomachs every time we lay eyes on him. Eros is based on a passionate, sensual, carnal, loving relationship. It requires the commitment of our heart, but also of our body.

Love Philia

Philia, a word of Greek origin, designates the state, feeling or emotion of friendship or companionship. It is this love, this strong feeling that we have for the people we consider to be our friends. Indeed, it is nourished most of the time by common interests, shared values and a powerful feeling of ease when we meet to spend time together.

Storge love

Storge is the Greek word that defines family love. It is a strong emotional connection between members of a family that is based on a mutual relationship. It is this innate love sometimes, but especially, inexplicable between the members of a family. However, it can be toxic when in the name of this love, certain family members want to justify their desire to control the lives of the people they love.

Agape Love

Unlike the other three forms of love, theagape is the strongest and purest form. It is unconditional love. It is he who allows us to love others, even when they hurt us or do not work out as we want. It is this strong feeling that pushes us to show love to others without a valid reason, without having to justify why we want to love. We simply love.

He does not wait for reciprocity to act, contrary to the first 3 forms of love stated above. He gives himself, without expecting anything in return, just for the pleasure of giving. Agape love is often approached as being divine love, which surpasses the conditions that we impose on ourselves in the human order to show love to others.

In a next post, I will go into more detail on the subject of the forms of love set forth by the Greeks. There is so much to say about it and I couldn't cover it all in this one article. What can we say of love then?

Together let's define love

What is love ?

The word love is taken from the verb to love, which means to feel affection, friendship, sympathy, love for someone. Love is therefore a feeling, but not only. Indeed, in French, we distinguish between action verbs and state verbs. If we refer to the list of verbs belonging to this second category, to love is an action verb.

In other words, love is certainly feeling, but above all action. However, the action is always conditioned by a choice, deliberate or imposed. We can choose to clean the house because we want to please the parents, or because they oblige us by putting a constraint. We can give flowers to our spouse to bring them joy, or do it because we have to, as a duty as a partner.

What is love then? Love is to act, to do or to say things, for the well-being of the other, for his pure pleasure and not because we feel obliged to act. For example, I can decide, spontaneously, to make my spouse's favorite dish, because I know that he will derive pleasure from it. I can deliberately choose to buy the book that my mother absolutely wants to read, because I know she will be proud of it.

Love is this feeling, which encourages us to take the decision to take action for the well-being of the loved one. The feeling of love is what gives rise to the will to act in order to contribute to the happiness of the person in front of us.

A word to conclude

love

I was looking, through this article, not to define love, but to try to understand its essence. Indeed, love is many things. It's the strong feeling we feel about that special other in our hearts. It is mutual benefit for a friend. It is the compassion that exists within a family. It is the inclination for the divine, which surpasses all. And it is above all the actions that we take for the people who are dear to our hearts.

In conclusion, love cannot be described in just one way. It is a polysemous word which, finally, takes on the meaning we want to give it. So I'm curious what is love, for you ?

About the Author

Sorelle KEMAYOU
Sorelle KEMAYOU
Writer - novelist, I am very interested in subjects such as the education of children, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, spirituality, psychology and above all, Love. My different articles will therefore focus on these different themes. I look forward to reading your various comments.

20 € offered on your French organic products

Get 20 € discount on your French organic products

Did you like this content?

Help us improve the quality of our articles by telling us your suggestions

Please scroll down for comments

20 € offered on your French organic products

Get 20 € discount on your French organic products

Help us

Support
newsletter

Comments

S’abonner
Notification pour
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

4 Comments
Le plus populaire
Le plus récent Le plus ancien
Commentaires en ligne
Afficher tous les commentaires
Kath
Kath
11 months ago

Very nice article, well written and pleasant to read 😊

rick
rick
8 months ago

Nice article! Maybe you already know, but to dig deeper into the psychological level, there is the small and excellent book by Erich Fromm "the art of loving" 😉

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Adblock detected!

Please disable your ad blocker then refresh the page.

Advertising is essential to support our initiative and ensure continued access to quality content. These advertisements play a key role in funding critical infrastructure, such as hosting and domain name, as well as in paying our authors.

We are committed to ensuring a pleasant user experience. Thus, we guarantee the absence of pop-up windows or animated advertisements on our site. All of our announcements are discreet and non-invasive.

Please add currenttrends.fr to your whitelist and update your page.

We thank you for your understanding and wish you an excellent navigation.

Qu’est-ce que l’amour ?

Ah l’amour ! Je peux mettre ma main à couper que chacun d’entre nous a une idée de ce que signifie ce mot et pourtant, quand il s’agit de lui donner une définition claire, nous avons de la peine. Dites-moi si je me trompe. Qu’est-ce que l’amour, alors ?

L’amour c’est tellement de choses à la fois. Il est complexe, mais simple au même moment. Il est beau, mais fait mal. Il nous blesse, mais vaut tellement la peine d’être vécu. Difficile de le définir réellement, n’est-ce pas ? Est-ce seulement possible ? Je ne pense pas, car si relatif comme concept. Toutefois, je sais qu’on peut essayer de le comprendre afin d’en saisir les contours. En effet, de mon point de vue, connaître ce qu’est l’amour et ce qui en découle nous permet de l’exprimer de la meilleure des manières autour de nous.

Cet article ne prétend donc pas vous dire ce qu’est l’amour, mais essayer de se faire une idée de réponse à la question qu’est-ce que l’amour, en étudiant son étymologie et quelques approches qui nous précèdent. Alors, ceci est pour vous, si vous êtes curieux/curieuse et passionné/passionnée du sujet de l’amour.

L’amour : étymologie et approche linguistique

L’amour : étymologie et approche linguistique

Le verbe « aimer » vient du mot latin amare, qui renvoie tant à l’affection amicale, que familiale et même érotique. C’est de ce verbe que le mot « amor » est dérivé, qui signifie désir, affection. C’est ce mot qui a donné naissance premièrement au mot amur en ancien français.  Le mot est par la suite devenu ameur, au fil de l’évolution de la langue française, vers le 13e siècle. Et, sous influence de l’ancien provençal, langue parlée par les troubadours, conteurs d’histoires d’amour qui voyageaient au travers de la France,  et qui disaient « amor »,  le mot « ameur » est devenu amour, tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui. 

Qu’est-ce que l’amour selon les dictionnaires ?

Selon le dictionnaire Larousse, l’amour est défini de plusieurs manières. Premièrement, c’est le mouvement de dévotion qui porte un être vers une divinité, vers une entité idéalisée ; adhésion à une idée, à un idéal : Amour de Dieu. Ensuite, il est défini comme étant un intérêt,  un gout très vif manifesté par quelqu’un pour une catégorie de choses, pour telle source de plaisir ou de satisfaction : Amour des objets d’art. Aussi, c’est l’affection ou la tendresse entre les membres d’une famille : Amour paternel, filial. L’amour est également l’inclination d’une personne pour une autre, de caractère passionnel et/ou sexuel : Déclaration d’amour.

Selon l’Internaute, l’amour est le sentiment d’affection, d’attirance sentimentale et sexuelle entre deux personnes. Il est également le sentiment d’attachement, d’affection mutuelle entre amis ou membres d’une même famille. L’amour peut aussi être approché comme étant un attachement désintéressé à une valeur, un idéal.

Vous constaterez avec moi que répondre à la question « qu’est-ce que l’amour ? » n’est pas une tâche aisée. Il s’étend à toutes les sphères de nos vies, familiales, amicales, amoureuses et même au niveau de notre gout pour les choses.

Toutefois, ces diverses définitions nous renvoient à la civilisation grecque, qui nous dit qu’il existe 4 formes distinctes de l’amour à savoir : l’amour Éros, Storgé, Philia et Agapé.

Qu’est-ce que l’amour selon les Grecs ?

Les différentes formes de l’amour selon les Grecs

L’amour est un concept abstrait et universel que tout le monde éprouve, de différentes manières. Il peut être interprété différemment, selon le contexte et la relation sentimentale auxquels il se réfère.

Dans une tentative de comprendre le phénomène de l’amour et de l’expliquer, les Grecs dans les temps anciens se sont penchés sur le sujet. Pour eux, l’amour est le moteur d’un grand nombre d’actions humaines, de décisions et d’états d’esprit.

Ainsi, ils ont proposé 4 formes ou classifications d’amour, pour expliquer ce sentiment complexe et unique que l’on ressent lorsqu’on aime une personne. En effet, selon eux, l’amour que l’on ressent dépend de la relation avec l’être aimé. Nous distinguons alors :

L’amour Éros

L’amour Éros est l’amour romantique, cet intérêt que nous avons pour une autre personne qui tend vers une attirance physique, sexuelle. C’est l’amour passion. C’est de cet amour que nous aimons notre conjoint, mari, fiancé, petit ami ; vous l’aurez compris, cet autre qui crée en nous des papillons dans le ventre à chaque fois qu’on pose les yeux sur lui. L’éros est fondé sur une relation passionnelle, sensuelle, charnelle, amoureuse. Il demande l’engagement de notre cœur, mais aussi de notre corps.

L’amour Philia

Philia, mot d’origine grecque, désigne l’état, le sentiment ou l’émotion de l’amitié ou de la camaraderie. C’est cet amour, ce sentiment fort que nous avons pour les personnes que nous considérons comme étant nos amis. En effet, il est nourri la plupart du temps par des intérêts communs, des valeurs partagées et un puissant sentiment d’aise lorsqu’on se retrouve pour passer du temps ensemble.

L’amour Storgé

Storgé est le mot grec qui définit l’amour familial. C’est une relation émotionnelle forte entre les membres d’une famille qui est basée sur une relation mutuelle. C’est cet amour inné parfois, mais surtout, inexplicable entre les membres d’une famille. Pourtant, il peut être toxique lorsqu’au nom de cet amour, certains membres de famille veulent justifier leur volonté de contrôler la vie des personnes qu’ils aiment.

L’amour Agapé

Contrairement aux trois autres formes d’amour, l’agapé est la forme la plus forte et la plus pure. C’est l’amour inconditionnel. C’est lui qui nous permet d’aimer les autres, même lorsqu’ils nous font du mal ou qu’ils ne marchent pas comme nous voulons. C’est ce fort sentiment qui nous pousse à témoigner de l’amour aux autres sans raison valable, sans avoir à justifier pourquoi est-ce qu’on veut aimer. On aime, tout simplement.

Il n’attend pas la réciprocité pour agir, à l’opposé des 3 premières formes de l’amour énoncées plus haut. Il se donne, sans rien attendre en retour, juste pour le plaisir de donner. L’amour agapé est souvent approché comme étant l’amour divin, qui surpasse les conditions que nous nous imposons dans l’ordre humain pour témoigner de l’amour aux autres.

Dans un prochain article, j’entrerai plus en détail sur le sujet des formes de l’amour énoncées par les Grecs. Il y a tellement à dire dessus et je ne pouvais pas tout aborder dans ce seul article. Que pouvons-nous dire de l’amour alors ?

Ensemble, définissons l’amour

Qu’est-ce que l’amour ?

Le mot amour est tiré du verbe aimer, qui veut dire éprouver de l’affection, de l’amitié, de la sympathie, de l’amour pour quelqu’un. L’amour est donc un sentiment, mais pas que. En effet, en français, nous distinguons les verbes d’action et les verbes d’état. Si on se réfère à la liste de verbes faisant partie de cette deuxième catégorie, aimer est un verbe d’action.

En d’autres termes, l’amour est sentiment certes, mais surtout action. Pourtant, l’action est toujours conditionnée par un choix, délibéré ou imposé. On peut choisir de nettoyer la maison parce que nous voulons faire plaisir aux parents, ou parce qu’ils nous obligent en mettant une contrainte. Nous pouvons offrir des fleurs à notre conjoint pour lui apporter de la joie, ou le faire parce qu’on doit le faire, comme étant un devoir en tant que partenaire.

Qu’est-ce que l’amour alors ? L’amour, c’est agir, faire ou dire des choses, pour le bien-être de l’autre, pour son pur plaisir et non parce qu’on se sent obligé d’agir. Par exemple, je peux décider, spontanément, de faire le plat préféré de mon conjoint, car je sais qu’il en tirera du plaisir. Je peux choisir délibérément d’acheter le livre que ma mère veut à tout prix lire, car je sais qu’elle en sera fière.

L’amour est ce sentiment, qui nous encourage à prendre la décision de poser une action pour le bien-être de l’être aimé.  Le sentiment amoureux est ce qui fait naître la volonté d’agir dans le but de contribuer au bonheur de la personne en face de nous.

Petit mot pour conclure

L’amour

Je cherchais, au travers de cet article, non pas à définir l’amour, mais à essayer de comprendre son essence. En effet, l’amour c’est plein de choses. C’est le sentiment fort que l’on ressent à l’endroit de cet autre spécial à notre cœur. C’est l’intérêt mutuel pour un ami. C’est la compassion qui existe au sein d’une famille. C’est l’inclinaison pour le divin, qui surpasse tout. Et c’est surtout les actions que nous posons pour les personnes qui sont chers à nos cœurs.

En conclusion, l’amour ne peut être décrit d’une seule façon. C’est un mot polysémique qui, finalement, prend le sens qu’on veut bien lui donner. Alors, je suis curieuse, qu’est-ce que l’amour, pour vous ?

À propos de l'auteur

Sorelle KEMAYOU
Sorelle KEMAYOU
Ecrivaine - nouvelliste, je suis très intéressée par les sujets tels que l'éducation des enfants, la communication interpersonnelle et intrapersonnelle, la spiritualité, la psychologie et surtout, l'Amour. Mes différents articles porteront de ce fait sur ces différents thèmes. J'ai hâte de lire vos différents retours en commentaire.

20€ offerts sur vos produits bio français

Bénéficiez de 20€ de remise sur vos produits bio français

Avez-vous aimé ce contenu ?

Aidez-nous à améliorer la qualité de nos articles en nous indiquant vos suggestions

Veuillez descendre plus bas pour les commentaires

20€ offerts sur vos produits bio français

Bénéficiez de 20€ de remise sur vos produits bio français

Aidez-nous

Soutenir
Newsletter

Commentaires

S'abonner
Notification pour
guest

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

4 Commentaires
Le plus populaire
Le plus récent Le plus ancien
Commentaires en ligne
Afficher tous les commentaires
Cath
Cath
11 mois il y a

Très bel article, bien écrit et agréable à lire 😊

'ric
'ric
8 mois il y a

Bel article ! Peut-être que vous connaissez déjà, mais pour creuser la question niveau psychologique, il y a le petit et excellent livre d’Erich Fromm “l’art d’aimer” 😉

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Adblock détecté !

Veuillez désactiver votre bloqueur de publicité puis actualiser la page.

La diffusion de publicités est essentielle pour soutenir notre initiative et garantir un accès continu à un contenu de qualité. Ces publicités jouent un rôle déterminant dans le financement des infrastructures essentielles, telles que l'hébergement et le nom de domaine, ainsi que dans la rémunération de nos auteurs.

Nous sommes déterminés à assurer une expérience utilisateur agréable. Ainsi, nous garantissons l'absence de fenêtres pop-up ou de publicités animées sur notre site. Toutes nos annonces sont discrètes et non-invasives.

Merci de bien vouloir ajouter currenttrends.fr à votre liste blanche et d'actualiser votre page.

Nous vous remercions pour votre compréhension et vous souhaitons une excellente navigation.